only help my unbelief


The end of an era
May 7, 2008, 12:06 pm
Filed under: Posts

I searched long and hard to find this picture, which I post to show my utter lack of self-consciousness and also to commemorate what I feel is the last time things will be as they have been. Tomorrow night, Katie (right), Emily and I are having a girls’ day – going to the pool, eating at Moe’s like we have every Thursday night for two-and-a-half years, and then watching a movie. This is the earliest picture of the three of us that I could find, taken at the S.C. State Fair in fall of our sophomore year (2005).

At the time, Emily and I lived a few doors down from Katie on the Horseshoe, but we hung out a whole bunch. Most of our time was spent with each other.

Now, Emily’s engaged, I’m graduating with a degree that I hadn’t even considered at the time that picture was taken, and Katie has made other friends besides us (much to our chagrin).

I graduate Friday afternoon, and then around the time Katie is getting ready for her Saturday morning graduation, Christian and I will be driving up to Tennessee for his graduation. When we come back, Katie and Emily will both be in Wisconsin visiting their respective families, and by the time they get back, I’ll have started my 5 p.m. – 1 a.m. job at The State.

No more impromptu movie nights; no more Thursdays at Moe’s; no more spontaneous trips out to do whatever we feel like; no more long conversations on the couch when we’re not really watching what’s on.

I’ve been blessed by God with these two wonderful roommates who laugh with me, cry with me and ultimately push me closer to Christ. Sure, sometimes they won’t turn the air conditioning on, or they take really long showers, but they put up with me as well, and I won’t soon forget the joy I’ve found living with them.

I’m going to miss it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

