only help my unbelief


Tip of the week: Thank-you notes
May 4, 2008, 9:44 pm
Filed under: Posts

I was raised to always write thank-you notes whenever I received something or something nice was done for me. I’m thankful it was instilled in me so heavily, because now that I’m older and have grown-up things to do, it’s hard to find the time – so that discipline is what ultimately forces me to do it.

Having just written thank-you notes at Christmas, doing it for graduation came a little too quickly. And yet, I’m sincerely thankful for all that I’ve been given, and I want to thank those who sent me something for their generosity.

The nice thing about graduation is that gifts don’t necessarily all come at once. Over the past few weeks I’ve gotten six or seven cards in the mail, so I’m not yet completely burdened down by quantity.

Even though I haven’t had a lot of time lately to write the notes, I have gotten a headstart by pulling out my huge bucket of note cards, picking out a card for each person, and writing their name on the envelope, sticking the card inside – then putting a stamp on front. This is so much easier, because I can just grab a few the next time I go somewhere where I know I’ll be waiting, and I don’t have to worry about keeping a master list with me. And if I’m in a place with a mailbox, I don’t even have to remember to put it in the mail when I get home!

So if you need to write a thank-you note today, DO it – you’ll be appropriately expressing your gratitude, and the person who you send it to will be blessed!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

