only help my unbelief


One last day
April 24, 2008, 10:22 am
Filed under: Posts

It’s 6:22 a.m. on a Thursday morning. I went to sleep a little less than six hours ago, but woke up twenty minutes ago unable to sleep.

I’m not a morning person. I remember people telling me about going to bed early so they could get up in the morning and do homework. That never worked for me. I knew that if it wasn’t done before my head hit the pillow, it probably wouldn’t get done.

Yesterday was a hard day at school. It ended up well, and I felt a sense of accomplishment, but it took much perseverance and all the grace God had to offer me to get through it.

And now it’s over. I’m heading to school for a few hours this morning to help everyone get their stories online, but then I’m going to get in my car and drive to Tennessee. And it’s the last time I’ll ever have to make the drive alone.

It’s the end of an era. An era of late night phone calls that leave me weary in the morning. An era of six-hour drives and weekends that end too soon. An era of countdowns and separations. An era of saying “One day, it won’t be like this anymore.” Because that one day will be here in two weeks, and this trip up to Tennessee is long taste of that new life.

It’s been just over two years since a similar Thursday morning when I woke up having hardly slept. For days I had been counting down, tying up loose ends. And then the day came, and I spent the morning at work mostly unable to contain my excitement. When I had been in the car for about four hours, I made the first of many phone calls to a now memorized number. And after that very first six-hour drive, I pulled into the driveway of a quaint brick building with a German flag hanging from the balcony and a tall, charming guy standing in the front yard.

A lot accumulates in two years. By the grace of God we’ve survived my depression, his busyness, my lack of spontaneity, his six months in Germany. And our friendship has grown, turning into something more beautiful than I ever imagined.

I know I’m going to be tired on the drive up there, but I don’t care. It’s the last time.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ahh yes, i know this feeling. although corey and i were only four hours apart, everything else you described felt like my own experience. it’s a wonderful feeling!

Comment by Sarah McGalliard




Leave a Reply

