only help my unbelief


Wouldn’t you know…
April 21, 2008, 9:18 pm
Filed under: Posts

…that when I finally came up with something to write about, I didn’t have my computer?

Still, HP turned around my machine really quickly. I dropped it off at FedEx Wednesday morning, and it was back in Columbia by Saturday. I couldn’t pick it up until this morning, though, which meant a weekend of checking my e-mail over the phone with Christian’s help. It wasn’t that big of a deal, but I did have some good ideas for blog posts.

But I can’t remember them now. For inspiration, I’m listening to the soundtrack for Les Miserables. I went to see a high school production of it with Katie last Friday night, and it was wonderful. I saw it in middle school, but at the time I couldn’t appreciate the artistic and musical beauty. I just downloaded the 10th anniversary recording on iTunes, and it is already worth the money I spent on it.

I have two-and-a-half days left at the Carolina Reporter. We actually have some work to do now, as we’re writing a story Wednesday in three-person teams. I’m working with my current assistant managing editor, Brian, and another girl, Karissa. I think that we’ll make a good team, and we already have a working story idea – we’re going to cover the annual undergraduate research day. It’s not until Friday, but we’re going to do an “advance” and see what kinds of research everyone is doing.

Even though I didn’t really enjoy my days as a reporter, I’m kind of looking forward to Wednesday, because I’ll actually have something to do. And then I’ll just have to deal with Thursday morning before I head up to Sewanee.

It’s hard to believe that by this time next week, I’ll never have to attend another college class. As excited as I am about Sewanee and the end of this semester, it will be hard to leave on Thursday. I’ve had a really good time this semester, even with all the frustrations and challenges. And I am looking forward to my internship this summer, but the comfort and familiarity of college will be missed.

Three more mornings of the stale smell of the coliseum. Three more days without windows. Three more days of Macs. And three days from now, Lord willing, I’ll be with Christian.

Bring it on.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

