only help my unbelief


Babysitting
April 12, 2008, 2:19 pm
Filed under: Posts

I’ve babysat four times in the past 9 days, not including picking up two of my favorite little girls from school. Three of those times were for the same family, who I hadn’t watched in a really long time.

Probably because of that, I slept like a log last night. I spoke to Christian for a few minutes before I went to bed, then conked out around midnight. I’m trying to get out of the college mindset that says when you don’t have to get up early the next morning, you should stay up at late as possible. Last weekend I stayed up until 2 a.m. doing who-knows-what, and only slept until 9 a.m. This morning I slept until 10 a.m., which meant 10 solid hours of sleep.

That said, babysitting is fun. I have been blessed not to ever babysit for kids that are really difficult. Most of the time I spend the majority of the evening laughing because all the kids I watch are so funny.

On Tuesdays, I pick up MTB and FB from school. I watched them and their two younger sisters all last summer. I don’t have any pictures of them because I had my hands full keeping track of them – ages 5 and 4 – and their two younger sisters, MB (20 months) and KB (only 6 weeks old when I first started keeping her).

Two times last week and on Thursday, I watched some boys from church. This family also has four kids – LB (almost 7), PB (almost 5), SB (2.5) and BB (born in December). They’re basically the same ages as the girls I watched before, but boys are really different from girls.

When I babysat the “B” girls, we spent most of our time playing house up in their room, or watching a movie, or doing crafts at the kitchen table. When I watched SB and BB last week, SB ran across the room approximately 83 times, back and forth, asking me to watch. Granted, it required very little involvement on my part, but I just don’t know where that energy comes from.

This past Thursday I watched all four boys, and the older three all started this running business, which was much more stressful because they inevitably would run into someone else when they got to the other end of the room. Thankfully, though, they got tired pretty quickly and my mind was much eased when they suggested we watch “Happy Feet,” only because I didn’t have to worry about them hurting themselves.

But probably my favorite kids to babysit are MEC and AC, ages 3 and almost 1. I watch them pretty regularly, probably once every two weeks, and it’s always a joy. AC is normally in bed or about to go to bed when I get there, but when I do get to spend time with her, there’s nothing I love more than her smile.

MEC has more personality than any other three-year-old I’ve met. She’s still very much a little girl – last week we couldn’t go to bed until she found her “lovey” – but she can actually engage me in conversation. She had pizza for dinner last night, so asked me if I wanted some. I said no, I’d already had dinner. She asked what I had eaten, and I said “spaghetti.” Her face lit up.

MEC: “Basketti? I had basketti last night!”

So yeah, she’s pretty cute. Last time I watched her, she insisted on putting on my shoes and dancing. With Minnie. And Dora. But once she got to her feet, she couldn’t actually move without falling over.

So yeah. I pretty much love babysitting. It makes me want to have kids who yell at me to wait before I leave so they can hug me, and who add “Lord willing” onto the ends of my sentences when I say something, and who pray sweet prayers about what seems small to me. Because God really can keep you from wetting your bed at night. He’s that big.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I completely understand this post…kids are just incredible, I think babysitting is one of my favorite past times 🙂

Comment by smcgalliard




Leave a Reply

