only help my unbelief


No fear in death
March 27, 2008, 4:55 pm
Filed under: Posts

I know I haven’t written in a while – almost a whole month. Sorry about that. Thankfully, though, I don’t think anyone has missed my blog.

A lot has happened. Christian has been here and gone, and in the time he was here, the Lord gave both of us jobs after graduation. Christian will be working at The Cason Group, and I have a copy editing internship at The State newspaper.

I graduate six weeks from tomorrow, and Christian is flying in six weeks from today. It will be hard to wait until then to see him, but I keep reminding myself that, unless the Lord comes back first, we won’t have to say goodbye for a long, long time.

The Lord has put me on the sanctification fast track over the past couple of months as I’ve been at school and church. I am almost constantly around people who don’t know the Lord, which I’m really thankful for. It helps remind me to keep my behavior excellent and above reproach. I can’t say I’ve done anything perfectly – I’m definitely still a sinner – but the Lord is really teaching me what it means to walk in the Spirit instead of in the flesh.

I’m gearing up to run in the Cooper River Bridge Run next weekend. It’s a 6.2 mile race, so the training has been tough, but I think I’m ready. Yesterday I was running at the Strom and this song came on my iPod:

When I go, don’t cry for me
In my Father’s arms I’ll be
The wounds this world left on my soul
Will all be healed and I’ll be whole.
Sun and moon will be replaced
With the light of Jesus’ face
And I will not be ashamed
For my Savior knows my name.

It don’t matter where you bury me,
I’ll be home and I’ll be free.
It don’t matter where I lay,
All my tears be washed away.

Gold and silver blind the eye
Temporary riches lie
Come and eat from heaven’s store,
Come and drink, and thirst no more

So, weep not for me my friends,
When my time below does end
For my life belongs to Him
Who will raise the dead again.

And it hit me – how much could the Lord accomplish through me if I’m not afraid to die? The words of the song captured my heart and made me think of heaven, where I will no longer sin every other moment, where I will no longer face disappointment, where I will be held tightly in the arms of Christ.

If I’m not afraid to die, then I don’t have to be afraid of boasting in the Lord at school.

If I’m not afraid to die, then I don’t have to worry about the future. The best possible future is heaven, and one day, I will be there.

If I’m not afraid to die, then I don’t have to wonder what other people think of me. Even if they hate me and threaten my very life, the worst that can happen is that I end up in heaven where “sun and moon will be replaced with the light of Jesus’ face.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

