only help my unbelief


On birth control
February 29, 2008, 7:00 pm
Filed under: Posts

I ran across a link to a message by Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church about birth control. It’s part of a series talking about misconceptions people have about Christianity, etc. I listened to it with skepticism, because the link to it made it seem like he was going to say people who decide not to use birth control are crazy.

He does say that, about some people, though he does have good things to say about a family he knows with 13 children.

There was a lot that I don’t agree with, because he spends a lot of time talking about legalism and how it’s wrong to make your opinion binding on everyone else. I agree with that, but the things he was talking about as being legalistic weren’t necessarily one person’s opinion; they were God’s opinions.

He also seems to simplify the arguments a lot. I had a hard time following him at times, because he really likes to joke around.

His greatest emphasis is that Christians should be stewards of what God gives them, and he puts children in the category of what we should be stewards of. I’m just not sure I buy that argument – or maybe I do buy it, but I’m just not convinced that’s how most Christians make decisions.

I’m actually listening to it as I write this, and the more he talks I think the less I disagree. He takes all these arguments that anti-birth control advocates sometimes use and tears them apart. And honestly, some of the arguments are silly. But Driscoll is a smart guy, and I really think that he shouldn’t mischaracterize all Christians that way.

The way I see it, I’m going to take tylenol when I have a headache, and I’m going to put neosporin on the next cut I have. God has blessed us with those cures for our ailments. But birth control isn’t a cure for an ailment.

I want children, and I want lots of them. I trust that God knows me and loves me and wants what’s best for me, and so I’m not going to treat God like I think I can control things for myself.

Let Him give me 13 children; let Him give me one. I’ll welcome them all, from the first day I’m married until the last day I’m able to bear children.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Chelsea-
Are you referring to hormonal BC like the pill or all birthcontrol including barrier methods and natural family planning?

The line between all of them is vague. In my experience of 5 plus years of marriage, I’ve had experience with the pill, barrier methods and natural family planning. I now prefer NFP.

Comment by Andy




Leave a Reply

