only help my unbelief


‘A common worldly kind of Christianity’
February 25, 2008, 3:29 am
Filed under: Posts

As I think I’ve mentioned before, I’m plodding through J.C. Ryle’s Holiness. I say plodding – but it’s really like strolling, because it isn’t that I’m not enjoying it. It is a wonderful book, and one that I would commend to anyone who wants to be challenged in their faith. I just finished the chapter on Moses, and Ryle had something good to say about worldly Christians.

“There is a common worldly kind of Christianity in this day, which many have, and think they have enough – a cheap Christianity which offends nobody, and requires no sacrifice, which costs nothing, and is worth nothing.”

This convicted me. First of all, I often think I have enough of God. Secondly, my faith tends to offend very few people. And thirdly, and probably most importantly, I sacrifice very little. Most decisions I make aren’t unpleasant to me at all, and aside from the painful consequences of stupid decisions, I suffer very little affliction.

Tonight at the vesper service I was overwhelmed with the love of Christ. It started with an encouraging conversation with the head of the childrens’ ministry, continued when a four-year-old climbed on my lap, and came to a climax when someone who I really enjoy being with asked me if I wanted to have breakfast together soon.

I can’t put into words what a great blessing those things were. With Christian 400 miles away and a 9-5 schedule that keeps me tired and away from my dearest friends, loneliness comes like a thief in the night, only it doesn’t slip away easily. And because I don’t know many people at church, going there hasn’t always been a comfort. But tonight I felt like I belonged.

On the way home I listened to “O, the deep, deep love of Jesus” and started weeping because His love truly is deep. It’s deeper than my concerns and anxieties, deeper than my hesitation to draw closer to others, deeper than the sorrows of loneliness. And He pours it out on His children in abundance.

I’m excited about the coming week, because today, on the Lord’s Day, He captured my heart with Himself.

“And He is before all things, and in Him all things consist.” – Colossians 1:17

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

