only help my unbelief


‘The faith of adherence’
February 10, 2008, 11:02 pm
Filed under: Posts

“There are some who are true believers, and yet weak in faith. They do indeed receive Christ and free grace, but it is with a shaking hand; they have, as divines say, the faith of adherence; they will stick to Christ, as theirs. But they want the faith of evidence; they cannot see themselves as His. They are believers, but of little faith; they hope that Christ will not cast them off, but are not sure that He will take them up.” – John Durant, preacher at Canterbury Cathedral, 1649

I am reading through J.C. Ryle’s Holiness very, very slowly. Today I read through the notes at the end of the chapter on Assurance, which basically consists of quotes from a variety of Puritans and other godly men of the ages (or, as both Durant and Ryle call them, the “divines). This was one of the many quotes to which I could relate, because I find myself with a very small amount of faith most of the time.

In other news, my “picture of the day” endeavor didn’t last very long. I took a picture on Friday, but never uploaded it. Maybe I should take a picture every day during the week, and then upload them at the end of the week and instead do a “week in pictures.” That would probably suit my dislike of uploading pictures every day much better.

Speaking of pictures, I started uploading all my pictures to Picasa instead of to Facebook. Facebook has been ornery lately and won’t let me upload more than 5 pictures at a time, and I just don’t have the time or energy for that. Picasa is much easier to organize and has a nice clean interface. I have a lot of pictures I haven’t gotten to yet, but I’m uploading them from most to least recent, so if you want to see if I’ve captured you in a spectacular moment, here’s the site: http://picasaweb.google.com/chelseykarns.

The pictures I’m most proud of are the ones in the album called “Carolina Reporter.” Not all of them are good, but I think my photography is getting a lot better.

Look for more pictures of the day (maybe) and hopefully more posts this coming week. Grace and peace.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

