only help my unbelief


Nailed to the cross
January 14, 2008, 5:36 pm
Filed under: Posts

My pastor started preaching last Lord’s Day on the book of Colossians. Since I finished up a book study of Isaiah at the end of 2007, I decided I would stay in Colossians until my pastor finishes it. I’ve been trying to read through it at least once every day, and there is so much to glean from this short little book. Each time I read it, something different pops out at me.

This morning, I read Colossians before coming to school for my first day at the Carolina Reporter. I expected to be hit by chapter 3, about putting on holiness, compassion and kindness. Or maybe even Colossians 4:6, about letting my speech be seasoned with salt. But it was in the middle of chapter 2 that I stopped and reread what the Lord had to say.

And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. He disrmed the rulers and authorities and put them to open shame, by triumphing over them in him. – Colossians 2:13-15

I love the thought of God nailing the record of our sins to the cross along with Christ. In fact, all those sins already were nailed to the cross, even before we ever committed them. So it is futile to try to hang onto that record, to repeat in our minds the sins we’ve already confessed, or to make ourselves feel guilty about things that the Lord has already removed “as far as the east is from the west.”

So I’m trying to remember today to keep my speech seasoned with salt, to put on holiness and kindness, but above all that, I want to make sure that I never forget that I am no longer under condemnation, for there is no condemnation in Christ (Romans 8:1). Knowing that allows me to live in freedom, and to point others to the only One who can also nail their sins to the cross.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

