only help my unbelief


101 things in 1001 days
August 11, 2008, 5:00 am
Filed under: Posts | Tags:

[Update (12-22-2008] I’ve removed a few things that after several months don’t seem to be that important to me, so that’s why some numbers are missing. I’ve also crossed out the ones I’ve already accomplished and adjusted some that were too vague.

I’ve read all over the Internet about this meme called 101 things in 1001 days. It originated here, where they stipulate the following guidelines:

The mission:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as New Year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organizing and timing some tasks such as overseas trips or outdoor activities.

From today’s date, I’ll hit 1001 days on May 8, 2011. I spent a lot of time last week coming up with my 101 things. Some of them came to mind quickly. When I got stumped, I looked up others’ lists online (type in ‘101 in 1001’ to Google; you’ll get thousands of sites). My final list is a compilation of the 101 best goals I could think of, and I’m so motivated by this list I can hardly talk.

seeking the one thing
1. Memorize the book of 1 John. In progress.
2. Read one book of the New Testament in the original language (ancient Greek).
3. Read through the whole Bible at least once.
7. Memorize 20 hymns.
8. Memorize the  Heidelberg Catechism.
9. Memorize Psalm 34, my ‘life’ psalm. In progress.
10. Keep a prayer journal, where I write down specific requests and record how the Lord answers them.

buffet my body and make it my slave
11. Run a half-marathon.
13. Do 100 push-ups without taking a break.
14. Run 20 miles in one run.
15. Compete in two 5Ks.
16. Compete in two 10Ks.
17. Go one month drinking nothing but water.
18. Compete in a mini-triathlon.
19. Swim one mile without stopping. Completed October 2008.
21. Lose 30 pounds.

it’s personal, ok?
22. Get married. In progress.
23. Have a baby (this will depend on when #4 happens).
24. Try 5 foods that I’ve never tried before and am sure I won’t like.
25. Never buy an article of clothing without getting rid of a piece of clothing I already have.
26. Get my own dog for a pet.
27. Begin planning something special for my parents’ 25th wedding anniversary (in 2011).
28. Post a video on YouTube and disseminate it to friends and family. See how many views I can get.
29. Spend 5 days (not necessarily consecutive) where I don’t use a computer at all, even though circumstances would allow me to (i.e. I’m not camping).
30. Make an inspiration board.

do everything for the glory of God
32. Relearn all the Russian I’ve forgotten (intermediate level).
34. Read 50 books.
35. Try 50 recipes I’ve never made before.
36. Make 10 semi-homemade or homemade gifts for people for birthdays or holidays.
37. Be published once in some sort of publication.
38. Take a cooking class.
39. Make pasta from scratch.
40. Can something.
41. Buy food for me or my family at a farmers market.
42. Make a red velvet cake from scratch.
44. Buy a ‘real’ camera.
47. Bless three needy people (pregnant, sick, etc.) with a home-cooked meal.
48. Learn CSS.

consider others as more important
49. Maintain relationships with at least three people who I don’t see often, but who I really love.
50. Go on a ‘sister date’ with my 18-year-old sister, where we do anything she wants to do and I pay for all of it.
51. Go on a ‘sister date’ with my 14-year-old sister, where we do anything she wants to do and I pay for all of it.
52. Read through 10 books of the Bible with Christian.
53. Get to know 5 families/couples/women at my church well. In progress.
54. Go on 5 hikes with Christian or other friends.
55. Write a handwritten note to someone once a month, encouraging them in their walk with the Lord.
56. Send an email or Facebook message to someone once a week, asking them about their life and how I can pray for them.
57. Read through books with Katie for as long as we live in the same town.
58. Encourage Christian through writing once a week.
59. Succeed in surprising Christian one time.
60. Find an accountability/prayer partner.
62. Become a spiritual mentor to one person.

the poor will always be with me
64. Encourage 5 people to adopt a child through Compassion. In progress (2 people).
65. Become a Compassion child advocate. Completed August 2008.
66. Adopt another child through Compassion.
69. Give Lisbet’s family a $300 family gift (the maximum allowed). (Lisbet is the little girl I sponsor through Compassion).

mo money, mo problems
74. Pay off the credit card every month. In progress.
75. Maintain a $3,000 emergency fund. In progress.
76. Plan a wedding for under $5,000 dollars. In progress.
77. Keep track of every penny I spend for six consecutive months. In progress (2 months down, 4 to go).

i write, therefore i am
82. Write a book.
83. Reach 5,000 page views on my blog in one month (will update if this happens before).
84. Write five guest posts for blogs that have a larger readership than mine. In progress (I’ve written 2).
85. Buy my own domain and move my blog there. Completed September 2008.
86. Write a short story / nonfiction piece about my Nana.

keeping things simple
88. Organize my computer’s hard drive. Completed December 2008 indirectly when HP wiped my hard drive.
89. Upload all photos on my computer (and all photos I take from now on) to Flickr.
90. Make a scrapbook about my relationship with Christian using all the mementos I’ve saved over the years.
91. Go through all the songs on my iPod and only keep the ones that I actually like. Completed November 2008.
92. Name and organize all pictures on my hard drive.
93. Get rid of all books I don’t want by selling them, swapping them or giving them away. In progress.
94. Create a poster using old birthday/graduation cards; throw the rest away. Completed November 2008. I didn’t make a poster; I just threw all the cards away.
95. Go without reading any blogs for a week.

all around the world
96. Visit Bamberg, Germany, with Christian.
97. Visit Gimmelwald, Switzerland.
98. Go to all my favorite Sound of Music places in Austria.
99. Visit a concentration camp.
100. Go somewhere west of the Mississippi River.
101. Eat at a famous restaurant.

I know you want to make your own list. Spend some quality time thinking up specific goals that are important to you and glorifying to God, spend some time in prayer lifting up your goals, and get to it! You don’t have to think of 101, either. Maybe do a list like ’22 things by the time I turn 22′ or ’52 things in 52 weeks.’


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great list – I’m interested to know which one you’re starting with. And do you have an idea for a book?

Comment by smallnotebook

[…] this reflective thought kicked in the other day when I read Chelsey’s post (at grace, grammar & good eats) outlining 101 things she wants to do in 1001 days. [This […]

Pingback by The Best Reason to Get Gussied Up « erin straza

Thanks to you

Comment by NewssyLee

[…] when Chelsey spoke of the 101 in 1,001 Challenge—developing 101 things to accomplish in 1,001 days—it was […]

Pingback by Start Your Brain Cells for the Mega Memory Month Challenge « erin straza




Leave a comment